Freedom

So this guy that I barely know asked me a question “do you want to?” it was a simple question, and I knew the answer but it hit me hard because for or a very long time, I’ve always tried not to think of what I wanted, but instead, I filled my head up with the things I needed to do. I think most of us feel the same way. That we have no choice but to do what is asked of us and try to save the things we want later in life. We always think, there are only a handful of people that have the ability to do what they want. We think that those people are just plain lucky, we’ll I think it’s not luck, it’s courage. Those people are just courageous enough to let the things that they want be more important than the things that they think they need. In actuality, we do the same thing. For example, we stay in a crap ass job because we want to buy things. So in some sense, you can say the love of material things is far more important than being an artist or a singer or a writer.

At the moment he asked me the question, I realized that I had the freedom to do what I wanted, I could walk right out of the office and never come back. I could quit my job and go back home without anyone stopping me. Noone can make me do the things I don’t want to do unless I let them.

We whine almost everyday of our lives saying that we don’t have a choice and we’re stuck in the lives we didn’t want to live. Well guess what, you live the life you deserve. If your life sucks now, you have every power to change it. I’m not saying that it’s going to be easy, and maybe that’s the reason why other people just live the life that’s in front of them, it’s safe and they don’t need to work as hard. But you can’t live that life and whine every single day that you hate it because that’s the life you chose for yourself. Noone forced you to live it.

Most people argue that they live the crappy life that they so in order to survive in this world. That may be true in some cases but most of the time I believe that that’s all a bunch of crap. Survival is not that difficult, it’s even in our nature, you don’t need to live in the city, have a new iPod and travel to survive. All you need are the basics, food, clothing, water and shelter. Everything else is optional. Life is plain and simple, you do what you want, period. As I would quote one of my favorite philosophers, Jean-Paul Sartre, “Man is condemned to be free; because once thrown into the world, he is responsible for everything he does.” We stay in a crappy job because it provides us something else and we are willing to sacrifice our freedom for that. We can never say that we didn’t choose to be tied up, because most of the things in your life is within your control.

We are free to do what we wish. We aren’t bound by anything. We have the capacity of see things and make them a reality. We can never blame our parents, our friends, our dogs, no one because can stop us from doing what we want, except ourselves. We are the only hindrance to our freedom. Always remember that “man is free at the moment he wishes to be – Voltaire”

4 thoughts on “Freedom

  1. Seki says:

    Nice!

    Kick Ass work!

  2. Kimmy says:

    i love this post! so true!!!

    • paningskie says:

      haha, thanks for reading it dear 🙂

      im just tired of complaining and hearing people complain about their lives. i just want to slap them and say just do something about it. haha! 🙂

Leave a Reply

