My Must See Movie list part 1

To me, movies are a great way of expressing opinions, it’s a way for a person to relate their way of thinking and showing people of vast possibilities, and that’s why I love them. Movies give me a sense of how the world works and how people see things, it helps me comprehend matters which I haven’t had any experience in.

This list was originally a top 10 list, but when I began listing it, I realized that there were more than 10 movies that changed my life. So I revised it to accommodate all the movies that literally changed by life or made my jaw drop in awe.

This list are mostly thrillers or philosophical ones because I love movies that make you think, I love movies that would make you evaluate your thinking and confirm or reject the film maker’s point of view. Well, I have included other feel good movies here but this list not recommended for those who just like feel good movies.

Here are my first 5 picks that you must see. (FYI, I haven’t seen movies that are older than 1980’s, so movies before that, I still have to see and does not form part of this list.)

1. Memento (2000)
Director: Christopher Nolan
Screenplay: Christopher Nolan
Cast: Guy Pearce, Carrie-Anne Moss and Joe Pantoliano
My Take: This movie is so cool, I think this is the only movie I’ve seen this kind of format. Other than the one of a kind narration, this movie deals with the question, “would you lie to yourself to be happy?” which I think is one of the greatest philosophical questions of all time. It deals with the question of love, revenge, suffering, passion and character. This is my all time favorite movie. I saw this just this movie this year I couldn’t help but drool over it, it is such a great perception of how a person views his life and what a person is capable of. It also shows us that we believe what we want ourselves to believe. We create the lives we live in and we live it as if we know all of it is true. Sometimes, we lie to ourselves to be happy, but should that really be the way to live? Also, the idea of his memory is terrifying, to not now where you’ve been and to not know where you’re going is an extremely frustrating situation.

2. Watchmen (2009)
Director: Zack Snyder
Screenplay: David Hayter, Alex Tse
Cast: Malin Åkerman, Billy Crudup, Matthew Goode, Jackie Earle Haley, Jeffrey Dean Morgan, and Patrick Wilson
My Take: This movie is a film adaptation of the graphic novel by Alan Moore and Dave Gibbons. I think most people hated this movie but I surely loved it from the first time I saw it. I think this movie is so dynamic in a sense that it provides you with the all the types of perception when it comes to humanity. Each character saw the war from a different point of view and they argued and fought over what they think was right. I think the way they portrayed each perspective is just great, of how aggressive people would act, of what a smart person would do and what an omniscient being would see with how people live. I think people who already saw this and hated it watch it again and re-think on how to view it. Maybe you should watch it while thinking about how you yourself perceive humanity and which perception should be adapted.

3. American History X (1998)
Director: Tony Kaye
Writer: David McKenna
Cast: Edward Norton and Edward Furlong
My Take: This is the best gang violence / racism movie I have ever seen and it is kind of scary. The anger that Edward Norton’s character have against immigrants is such a powerful force and his conviction to his belief is moving to some point. Also, this gives us a peripheral view of how different races interact in a ghetto setting and how many of them react to situations. I think what’s extremely moving about this film is how to get over anger and grief. This film changed my mind about holding on to anger and what to do with it. It literally changed my life when his high school professor asked him a single question that made him realize how much of his life he wasted on hate. The ending is pretty cool too because it would make you derive your own conclusion of what he would do next.

4. City of Angels (1998)
Director: Brad Silberling
Writer: Wim Wenders, Peter Handke and Dana Stevens
Cast: Nicolas Cage and Meg Ryan
My Take: Well, I think everyone loves this movie. But the reason why I love it is the idea to do anything and everything it takes to be with the person you love. I believe in that kind of passion and would hopefully have one someday. I think a second with the person you feel that strongly about would be worth everything else that you have. Plus, the soundtrack for this movie is great too.

5. Lord of the Rings: The Two Towers (2002)
Director: Peter Jackson
Screenplay: Fran Walsh, Philippa Boyens, Stephen Sinclair and Peter Jackson
Cast: (Too many to mention, haha, I think those familiar with LOTR would already know this  )
My Take: The war scene in Helm’s Deep is EPIC, and I mean epic! That’s the main reason why I love this film, well, other than the quotes which could be attributable to the book, which I loved too. But the cinematography and the CGI that went with this movie is a classic. I think we all felt the terror when we saw the army that Saruman and Sauron sent to Helm’s Deep and the courage we felt when Treebeard saw what Saruman did to the Fangorn Forest. And the hope we saw when Haldir came and of course when the riders with Gandalf saved the day. This movie is really one for keeps and will never get old.

3 thoughts on “My Must See Movie list part 1

  1. Elcay says:

    For Memento, I agree with you completely. This film haunted me for weeks. I almost wanted to tattoo myself with ‘Remember Sammy Jenkins’ until sanity knocked on my door again..Thank God! The genius behind here really is THE Christopher Nolan. Yes, his name should start with THE. How in the world will you come up with something like this? Then Inception came.. One person mothered these movies! Wadda heck?!

    • Paning Dalan says:

      Hahaha! Yeah, he’s my all time favorite director. It’s like when i realized what The Matrix was all about, i wanted to worship The Wachowski brothers for it. hahaha! HE IS AMAZING.

      So i think you’ve seen all five of these films? Wait na lang for the next installment. And let me know what movie you want me to review 🙂

      Thanks Ella dear! Much love. Nyahaha!

  2. Paning Dalan says:

    Thanks for the like 🙂

    I would love to hear your thoughts regarding these movies or if you have any suggestions on any movies i could see. Thanks! 🙂

Leave a Reply

