Lists

Since it is too late to make a new year’s resolution, I’m realigning my ten things to do this year with my upcoming birthday. Since 2008, I always make a list of things to accomplish during the year, some of it grand, some of it small but the goal is to TRY to do all of it by the end of the year. Although in the 4 years that I have done this list, there was never a time when I got to cross all of my goals, but I average about 7 out of 10, which in my opinion, is a pretty good average considering the time and resources that I have.

So in keeping with my tradition, this year, I’ve already made my list but this time, I’ll be tracking my progress through my blog. It may be harder to maintain it when I need to post my progress but I think this will help me see how I’m doing. So here are my ten things to do in 2013.

1. Be at 54kg – I am overweight since forever and losing weight has been in my list ever since I graduated from college and gained more than 20lbs during the three years that I have been working. But I never think that putting this on my list is futile because I really need to do it.
2. Become a vegan or a flexitarian at least – After seeing Fast Food Inc. and Earthlings, I’ve come to the conclusion that I don’t need to eat meat. Because not only is processed and industrialized food bad for you, but it is also a big contributor to global warming. So starting this year, I will refrain from eating meat and processed foods, I’m not saying that I can abstain from all of it entirely because that is extremely impractical, but I will avoid it as long as I can.
3. Start an organic garden – In line with my effort to go green and also become a vegetarian, I am starting an organic garden to grow my own vegetables. This is nothing big since I live in an apartment, but after some research, apparently, you can literally grow vegetables anywhere. In addition to that, making your own compost for your garden helps in reducing your waste, so this is killing 2 birds with 1 stone.
4. Read 52 books – I have loved reading books since I was a kid, but due to being lazy, I now prefer to watch sitcoms over and over again than to read a book. So to rekindle my passion for literature, I am forcing myself to read a book at least once a week, this way, I can get back the habit and learn something in the process.
5. Watch 104 movies – I absolutely love watching movies, but I have not seen some of the old ones since I am more of the contemporary movie type of person. But for my love of cinema, I will try my best to see the movies that are older than my parents so that I can understand the power of cinema better.
6. Set up an emergency fund – I am a huge spender; I am what people call one day millionaire type. And due to this, I have not even set an emergency fund for emergencies. So to earn the title of being a wise spender and becoming a more responsible human being, this year, I will set up this fund just in case I may need it.
7. Invest – As I’ve said, I do love to spending. But this year, I’m planning to set aside some money for investing. This is not some big investment but just some small ones so that I can make sure that not all my money goes to unnecessary spending but to more important things than can earn money of its own.
8. Travel Indochina Part II – I saw Cambodia last year and it blew my mind, this year, my main travel destination would be Laos. I am planning to spend a day in an elephant sanctuary and cruise the Mekong river in a horrifyingly long boat ride of almost 3 days.
9. Volunteer – I have volunteered to do some small part in some charities in the past years but I’ve never really fully committed to the idea. Due to this, I am listing this as part of my goals so that I will be forced to seek out volunteer opportunities and not just wait for any time to do it.
10. Revive my blog – And obviously, the last one is to revive my blog. As I’ve mentioned before, I plan to post at least once a week about anything. I am doing this not only because I love blogging but because I believe this is good practice on how to become a good writer, and that is, my ultimate goal in life.

I know this may seem like a tedious task, to sit down and think about what you want to accomplish during the year. But when you think about it, there are a lot of things we want to do with our lives, and if we don’t start doing it now, when will we have the chance to really do it? Making annual lists like this makes creating and achieving goals easier. It helps me keep organized and focused on the things that I want to do. It also helps me realize the things that I really want and to cross out things I never want to do again. It helps me get a little sense of accomplishment and realize that time may have passed but at list I did something; and those small things add up to a big thing.

Leave a Reply

