5 Directors, 5 Movies for March

Because of my love for Christopher Nolan and Quentin Tarantino, I decided to make a list of my top 5 directors as part of the movie section in my blog. Unfortunately, while I was trying to think of my top 5, I realized that I haven’t really seen that many movies from different directors to give my opinion on which I like the best. So to be the credible “movie source” that I want to be, I decided to take on the challenge of watching the movies that I have not seen, even if in my mind, some of them will be excruciatingly uninteresting.

Also unfortunately, while researching for the directors’ works that I’ve barely seen, I hit another bump. There are literally hundreds of films that I need to see in order to truly understand these directors’ style and why they are influential. To add up to that, there may be some missing link in my history knowledge bank since I’ve hated that subject since grade school and have no idea when and where most these events took place.

So in order to make this problem bite sized, I’m literally cutting it into bite sizes. Each month, I’ll see 5 movies from 5 directors that I haven’t seen. I’m hoping this five by five format will fit with the timeline. So for the month of March, here are my 5 directors and their 5 movies:

Alfred Hitchcock
1. Psycho (1960)
2. Vertigo (1958)
3. The Birds (1963)
4. Rear Window (1954)
5. North by Northwest (1959)

Stanley Kubrick
1. Dr. Strangelove (1964k
2. 2001: A Space Odyssey (1968)
3. A Clockwork Orange (1971)
4. Full Metal Jacket (1987)
5. The Shining (1980)

Woody Allen
1. Annie Hall (1977)
2. Manhattan (1979)
3. Hannah and Her Sisters (1986)
4. Sweet and Lowdown (1999)
5. The Purple Rose of Cairo (1985)

David Lynch
1. Blue Velvet (1986)
2. Mulholland Drive (2001)
3. The Elephant Man (1080)
4. Eraserhead (1977)
5. The Straight Story (1999)

Roman Polanski
1. Chinatown (1974)
2. The Pianist (2002)
3. Rosemary’s Baby (1968)
4. Tess (1979)
5. Repulsion (1965)

You may notice that the more “contemporary directors” are not part of the list, ie Ridley Scott, David Fincher, Peter Jackson, Bob Zemeckis, James Cameron, Steven Spielberg and Quentin Tarantino but I’ve seen most of their films, so it’s really no use putting them in it.

I’ll finish this list and will be posting my opinions on the director and the movies by April and will come up with another list by then. But since I am no expert on these directors, I would love any comments or suggestions on any director or any movie that I need to see. You can put it in my comment box or you can send me an email through stefaniedalan@yahoo.com . This time, I’m making this part of my blog interactive, hoping to get some comments soon.

Leave a Reply

