Just Missed the Top 20

I thought a whole weekend would be enough for me to choose my top 20 movies of all time, but it turns out, it’s not that easy. You might think that there are only a few movies in your life that really makes an impact, but apparently, those few movies account for more than 20.

You go through the process of listing down all the movies that you have strong feelings towards then you eliminate which ones you can live without. It is that simple, but it is easier said than done. Weighing how much you love one movie against another is a hard thing to do. It kind of plays with your feelings and despite rewatching the movies; it will still leave you feeling confused. But come hell and high waters, I was able to choose my top 20 movies of all time. But despite having a list, I have still not yet put them in order. But to not leave you hanging waiting for this list, I’ll be putting up my just missed list before the actual top 20.

So here’s my just missed list. I’m not saying these movies aren’t as good as the ones in my top 20, it just means that I love the movies on my top 20 more.

Mary Poppins

1. Mary Poppins (1964) – A Walt Disney film starring Julie Andrews and Dick Van Dyke filled with adventures and a lot of singing. The story has a really simple premise, two kids get a nanny then they go off to places (even in street paintings) and have the time of their lives. This is probably one of the few musicals that I like, it may be because I saw this when I was a toddler. And to me, people singing while sweeping chimneys were common and not unrealistic at all. There’s something magical about it that captured my heart and imagination when I was young and still brings out the child in me now that I’m older. To demonstrate how much I loved this movie, I learned how to operate a VHS player and a rewinder just so I can watch this over and over again even without supervision. My grandparents even had to buy me another copy because I wore out my first one. To me, there’s just something about the tunes on this movie that touches my heart. Until now, a spoonful of sugar can make me smile when I’m feeling down.

Waterworld2. Waterworld (1995) – My parents were not a big fan of different genres of movies. My dad was sort of restricted to watching either action or comedy or anything with Tom Hanks, which is why when I first saw Waterworld on HBO, it blew my mind. A world under water where the currency is dirt? A world where people live afloat and struggle to find land? This really turned my constrained perspective of what the world is and introduced me to a different world and to a future that I’d never really thought of. It enabled me to imagine things that could possibly happen and open my eyes to the world that could be, which is not necessarily the world that I see. I know a lot of people do’t like this movie but it really made me love dystopic futures and the ability of some people to adapt and survive.

Silence of the Lambs3. Silence of the Lambs (1991) – I did not see this movie until I was 16 because I am not a big fan of thriller movies. It’s not that I think they are not good or creative, It’s just that I get scared easily and get nightmares for weeks when I watch one; which is why I generally stay away from these kinds of movies. But I was bored one day and my college roommate had a copy, so I thought, maybe it was time to watch it. So I saw it and it was both good and bad. Good because I loved the movie and bad because it terrified me to death. Not even the jump scare type but the creep into your veins type of fear. When you feel like anytime someone might appear behind you and take you and torture you. But I think the thing that got me through to the end of the movie was that it wasn’t just a detective-serial killer story, but a self-discovery story for the 3 main characters. I mean Buffalo Bill wasn’t just a killer, but a person who wants to be accepted not only by other people by also by himself. Agent Starling was just a rookie agent, but had to dig deep into her own fears to track this killer who skins his victim. And for Hannibal Lecter who was supposed to be a cold killer but found himself fascinated by this young agent asking for his help. It was really such rich story that you get wrapped up with it and never let go even after the ending.

Dodgeball4. Dodgeball (2004) – When you make a list and you think of comedy, to me, there’s got to be a Ben Stiller movie. And with lines such as “there are 5 D’s in dodgeball, dodge, duck, dip, dive and dodge” it kind of inched out “what is this, a center for ants?!” a little bit. I know this is one of those mindless comedies, but even now that I’m older, I still watch this and still roll on the floor laughing which is a testament on how funny this movie really is. It’s just a fun movie to watch with characters you both love and hate. I mean who can forget, The Purple Cobras and Ben Stiller trying to eat a donut, it’s such an over the top hilarious comedy with a lot of heart that’s done right.

Goodfellas5. Goodfellas (1990) – Those who know me know that I don’t like action and mafia movies, there’s just something about the type of testosterone drive in those movies that I don’t like. I feel like it’s all “I’ve got a bigger penis than you attitude” all throughout it that it fails to capture my interest. But if I had to choose one good mafia movie, it’s got to be Goodfellas. Why? Because Joe Pesci is funny. Why you think he’s funny? I don’t know. But something about his cruel, crazy nature gave me a big laugh while watching it. Yes, I think it’s better than the Godfather because this has a little bit of humor and it’s more unpredictable.

This is my just missed the top 20 movies, I’ll be uploading the top 20 list soon and will be reviewing them one by one together with the crazy ambitious list I have posted earlier this year. I hope you liked my picks. If you have any comments or suggestions, just let me know. Your feedback is very welcome and will be very much appreciated. Just leave a comment or send me a message. It would be nice to hear from the people who read my blog 🙂

Leave a Reply

