Top 20 Movies of all Time – Part III

So finally, we’ve come to the last part of this post. My final top 5 which I’m very excited about. It’s kind of hard to just explain through words how much I love these movies and how much they have changed by life but I’ll try to give it justice. Besides, there will be the upcoming movie reviews that I’ll make for each of the top 20 so that will give me plenty of words to air out my praise for these movies. So without further BS, here’s the top 5.

 American-History-X-1998-movie-poster5.    American History X (1998) – Hate is baggage. Life’s too short to be pissed off all the time. It’s just not worth it. This is the whole message of this story portrayed throughout the film and it resonates with you until after the movie. Although violent (I always look away with the rape scene), this has such a noble message that transcends faith, race and belief. It is about hate, what you do when you have hate in your heart and the question of why would you ever want to hate anybody else. It’s a simple truth that all of us understand that enables this story to unfold. The reason why I love this film so much is that it’s a practical story to learn from. I mean you don’t have to go through what the Edwards went through but you can understand and relate to it in the level of your own experience. And it touches you, and it somehow heals a little bit of your rage and it gives you a jump start to understand people more. I know that is cheesy, but for me that is real.

Batman Begins

4.       Batman Begins (2005) – I’ve been going back and forth of with this and I finally came up with my favorite Batman film. Yeah, batman has to be in the top five because he’s my favorite character, not only superhero of all time. He’s human, although rich, but relatively normal compared to everyone else. And I think he has the best “superpower” of them all, which is an honest and unwavering sense of justice. And of course the best batman films were done by Nolan, but it took me a while to finally decide which of The Dark Knight Trilogy I like the best. I used to love the Dark Knight the most because of the Joker of course (I mean who can forget the magic trick?), then I really enjoyed The Dark Knight Rises because Bane is just so cool and suave but destructive. But when I think about it, for me the best batman movie is Batman Begins because it introduces you to the batman that fans deserved. It’s an awesome backstory that makes sense and does not let you have lingering questions on who batman is and what he wanted to accomplish. It tells you straight up that batman is this because of all these things so you need not make up any other stories, this is the story and it’s way cooler than you’ve ever thought. That’s what Batman Begins is so what more can you ask for? And if you have established that with a bang, the two later films were just icing on the cake. They just added up to the first one which doesn’t make them less awesome, it just makes the first one the most awesome of the three.

five_hundred_days_of_summer_xlg

3.       500 Days of Summer (2009) – It may not be a love story, but it is my favorite romantic movie. Every time I feel a little bit gloomy, I watch this movie. Although it doesn’t make me feel better, it does make me feel like there are some things you cannot force into being. It just portrays a break up so well; what you remember, what you think about, what you feel and look like. It has such a good grasp of what you go through before, during and after a relationship that it becomes so easy to relate to every little bit of it. It tells you from a third person perspective about when you first meet a person, when you start to find them interesting, when you think there’s something there, when you finally confirm that there is something there, to when it eventually falls apart, to getting a bit of hope until it’s finally shot down with a final blow. This movie takes you on that journey (although non-linear) of what you already know about heartbreak and it plays the songs in your head that you wish were playing when you were experiencing the same thing.

 

return_of_the_king_poster

2.       Lord of the Rings: Return of the King (2003) – I have seen the Lord of the Rings trilogy a bunch of times now, and I’m still debating inside my head which one I like the most. Originally, after I’ve seen all three movies, I’ve decided that my favorite was The Two Towers because Aragorn was finally stepping up as a leader, Gandalf was in fact alive (although I did know this because I’ve read the book), Gollum was amazing, Legolas and Gimli were funny as hell and there are no words to describe the epic battle of Helmsdeep. But through watching the series over and over again (and yes, I never watch them one at a time, I always watch them in threes), I’ve come to realize that the best among them is Return of the King. Despite me falling asleep due to exhaustion when I first saw it in cinemas and getting bored with the last part when the battle is over and they have to come back to their real lives, the more I watch LOTR, the more I’ve come to love Return of the King. It is just an awesome ending of one of the most epic movies of all time. This is the movie where you feel that tingling in your tummy the whole time, when they are giving speeches, when they tell that you that friendship is worth everything, that good is worth fighting for, that obsession will eventually kill you, and that crap is just packed in this last installment that you can’t help but appreciate how much thoughtfulness was put into it. It’s just one of those movies that not only takes you on the journey of the character but rewards you with the best ending to the emotional investment you’ve put into it. Peter Jackson did such a great job with all three my th dearest in my heart is Return of the King.

 Memento1.       Memento (2000) – The Nolan tandem topped my list, Christopher and Jonathan Nolan hit a homerun with Memento. For me, it is a flawless piece of cinema that really makes you go WHOA! The story was intriguing, the dialogue was very interesting, the acting was on point, the set appropriate, the format was amazing, this is just one really really really awesome movie that will blow your mind. It gives you with puzzles but completely explains itself without making your brain melt. I mean it literally blew my mind every rewind it did that when I got to one of the “twist”, my jaw dropped and I had to stop watching it just so that I can absorb what has happened. It lays everything in front of you and yet you still get to be surprised. If that is not a clever mind bending movie, there will never be a good mind bending movie. (And those who think Inception is better than Memento, I’d definitely disagree. This movie has accomplished so much in so little that you can’t help but be in awe). I just can’t help but ramble on about this but I do have to stop because I will end up with nothing to say when I do the review, so I’ll end with one of the amazing quotes from the movie that I liked the most. “Just because there are things that I don’t remember, doesn’t make my actions meaningless. The world doesn’t just disappear when you close your eyes.”

And there you have it, my top 20 movies of all time. I do apologize if this post is so long but I just can’t help but talk about these movies. I really do love and adore these movies. I hoped you like them. And to the other movie lovers out there, do you have similar movies on your top 20 or where there any movies that you thought didn’t belong? If you have any comments or suggestions, just let me know. Your feedback is very welcome and will be very much appreciated. Just leave a comment or send me a message. It would be nice to hear from the people who read my blog. 🙂

Leave a Reply

