Being Vegetarian – It’s not a diet, it’s a lifestyle

So as the readers of my blog would know, I’ve been transitioning to vegetarianism for a little over a month now. And I have to say, I’m still very happy with it and it feels really great (although 1 month isn’t really much of a hallmark). But of course, I’ll get there, I mean, I have to start somewhere right?

So anyway, while I was changing my diet, some people were concerned that I’m not getting enough food, or that I’d get sick, or that I’ll feel light-headed or weak but I feel fine. In fact, I feel great! I feel “healthier” than usual (that is before I was stuffing my face with anything I can get my hands on). And I must admit that I had similar concerns because despite eating veggies daily, I was a consistent meat eater and had limited knowledge to what it takes to becoming a vegetarian. But as I did my research and accustomed myself to the new food, it now feels more natural to me.

 But it hasn’t been that easy, because I am still bombarded with food at anytime and anywhere. Seeing all the food available to me made me realize, that becoming a vegetarian isn’t much of a diet, it is a lifestyle change. I can honestly say that you need to develop the discipline and the correct mindset to change into this lifestyle, because if you don’t, you’ll fall right back where you’ve started and probably abandon this all throughout thinking that it’s impossible.

For example, just last week, there were events (yes, more than once) that lured me into eating meat. It was a little bit funny because I was looking at the crispy pork and lechon at an office dinner and I was definitely tempted to just forget about my “diet” and just start munching on the salivating food in front of me (which I must also note was free, everyone knows I never turn down free food). And I did think that maybe I could “cheat” today and just get back on the horse tomorrow, but I didn’t let myself get some and just ate some noodle and some fish instead (I was still eating white meat until last week). And just as I sat down and started eating, I could smell the food around me and got tempted again, then like a defense machine, I started calculating risks in my head thinking why the hell was I turning vegetarian again when all this delectable was around me? Am I punishing myself for something? Is this really what I wanted?

Then the facts of Food Inc and Earthlings started flooding in my head and it hit me, there will always be luncheons and dinners and food events that will offer me these kinds of food, and if I keep on thinking that I am only in a diet, I will always feel the need to cheat because it also feel temporary. I need to change my lifestyle not my diet, and that entails that I understand thoroughly why I am doing this in the first place and not just because it feel benefited from it (ie losing weight, sleeping better).

 After that realization, it felt easier for me to turn down food and at last, this week, I have weaned myself off of white meat which I am very happy about. Now, my next step next week is to go on a juice fast so that I can completely cleanse my body from all the junk. I’m very excited about my next steps to take to go vegetarian then vegan. 🙂

Leave a Reply

