Being Vegetarian – What to eat

Because I cook every day, I’ve already gotten a hang of making vegetarian meals. I usually eat sandwiches in the morning, eat a more complete meal during lunch and eat cereal at night. And I know a lot of people are wondering how vegetarians survive solely on a plant based diet but it’s really just the same as eating with meat, it needs to be balanced.

 When I make my meals I usually think about three things. (1) Protein, (2) Carbs and (3) Green veggies.

  1. Protein because since it’s vegetarian, you can’t use meat, so you have to make sure that there is an alternative source of protein which is usually beans. You can easily use any type of bean, black beans, white beans and chickpeas are the more common.
  2. Carbs is also important for me because for me this fills you up and makes sure you have energy for the day. My usual source of carbs are rice and bread.
  3. Green veggies are important for vegetarian because yes, you are a vegetarian. This will form part of your fiber intake and will be definitely be the one to provide nutrients and flavor in your food.

 Since a lot of people are asking what kind of food vegetarians eat, I’ll be posting a couple of really really simple recipes that anyone can make. Either no cook or easy to cook so that preparation won’t be a problem. Please do note that I don’t cook using measurements, I usually just throw it all in then taste then adjust. I think cooking is more fun and more loving that way.

IMG_0902

Peanut butter and banana sandwich

What you need: Peanut butter (the “natural” one), half a banana and bread, preferably wheat. 

How to make: What you read is what you get, just make the sandwich 🙂

 IMG_0900

Orange salad

What you need: Lettuce ( I used both romaine and iceberg for variety in taste) and a whole orange.

How to make: Just tear the lettuce with your hands and cut up the oranges into cubes. The dressing I used for this is honey mustard with a bit of vinegar and olive oil. You can use any dressing you like 🙂

IMG_0904

Please forgive the photo, it looks dead but it actually tastes better than it looks. It’s just that iPad 2’s camera sucks.

Fried Eggplant and Tofu

What you need: You need an egg, flour, salt, pepper and chili powder for the breading. Then olive oil for frying (this is a really shallow fry) and eggplant and the tofu.

How to make: To prepare the tofu, just try to dry it by cutting in into smaller pieces then lay them out in a paper towel for 5mins. Just dip the eggplant and the tofu in the egg then with the coat then shallow fry them for 1minute on each side to make sure that you don’t burn it. I prefer to serve this with some sweet and sour sauce which you can make from ketchup, soy sauce and a bit of sugar.

And there you have it, three simple recipes that I’m pretty sure anyone can make. Hope you liked them. If you have any comments or suggestions, just let me know. Your feedback is very welcome and will be very much appreciated. Just leave a comment or send me a message. It would be nice to hear from the people who read my blog. 🙂

Leave a Reply

