5 Reasons Why Being a Vegetarian is Awesome

It’s been a little over 2 months since I decided to transition from being a meat eater to a non-meat eater and I can feel the difference. I know a lot of people are still skeptical or think it’s too hard but in my opinion, you just need the right motivation and run with it. So in order to illustrate how I’ve benefited from being a vegetarian, I’ll list down five effects that I’ve noticed since I’ve started to become a vegetarian.

 1. The most obvious reason is losing weight. I’ve lost almost 15lbs since I changed my lifestyle. I didn’t change my eating habits though, I still had snacks in between 3 main meals and I barely exercised. I still ate chips and sodas but had no fast food. And the best thing about this is I gradually lost the weight, it wasn’t just one big leap. I think I lost about 2lbs a week at the start then slowly losing 1lb a week the second month. I know losing weight isn’t really my main goal but it really is a big incentive.

 2. Makes you eat less. I noticed that ever since I started eating less meat, I eat less. This meant that I don’t stuff my face until I could no longer breathe but I generally just finish what I packed for lunch and I’m already full. Now, my eating habits are better because I usually stop when I feel that my tummy is already full and stop thinking about eating more.

 3. Sleep better. Sleeping has been a huge problem with me because I’ve had insomnia before. And I couldn’t believe that being vegetarian could help with my sleeping patterns. This is because ever since I stopped eating meat, I slept better. Maybe it’s partly because I don’t eat a huge meal before I go to bed so my body doesn’t need to spend so much energy digesting food while I slept. Also, this feels great in the morning because I usually felt tired when waking up before but now I can literally jump out of bed with no problems.

 4. You feel lighter. It doesn’t literally mean to feel lighter, but you feel physically better. Like you’re not bloated or tired and very energetic. Most people think that being a vegetarian makes you weak because you don’t eat meat but it really doesn’t. So long as you make sure that you eat the right kind of veggies to make sure that you are not missing any essential nutrients, you can be as strong as any meat-eater.

 5. Makes you calmer. Before I started the transition, I made some research regarding the benefits of being a vegetarian and it supposedly makes you calmer. I don’t know if this is true but I do feel that somehow becoming a vegetarian is a form of meditation, hence it helps you think more before you act. I say this because for example, with all the food available to me, I can just stop what I’m trying to accomplish and give in to the temptation. But now, it usually takes me a while to decide whether or not I eat something. I take my time in considering everything else before I make the choice. And that to me is proof that it does make you calmer since I am an extremely impulsive person.

 So there it is, I do hope that this would help people understand vegetarianism more and stop acting aggressive towards it. I really do think that with enough understanding, people may enjoy this lifestyle for the philosophy behind it and feel that it’s just a personal choice and not an attack towards meat eaters. I hope you enjoyed this post. 🙂 Please leave any comments in the comment box below.

Leave a Reply

