Goodbye Cheese – I will miss you FOREVER – Turning Vegan

It’s been almost 4 months since I’ve transitioned to becoming a vegetarian and though I still love the smell of cooking meat, I have to say that I don’t want to choose to turn back. And as I am not a person who chooses to give up, I eventually plan to turn vegan maybe in a year or two. I gave myself that much time to transition from vegetarian to vegan because I was thinking the shock may be too severe on my end. I had no familiarity with a plant based diet and I am extremely dependent on dairy. But the truth is; I’m just scared to miss cheese. I know it’s such a stupid thing to be sad about but I’m really finding it difficult to turn vegan due to its limitations, in terms of dairy that is. But now, after a quick visit to the PETA website, I finally convinced myself that I can become a vegan.

 

I honestly have no idea where to start. I am so used to cooking with no limitations that I’m flying blind in terms of the vegan world. I know there are a lot of alternatives out there and I know I will find them eventually, but I’m really hoping that the journey doesn’t bring me down. I guess I just have to remind myself every day why I am doing this and who I am doing for and I’m pretty sure that will carry me through. I still have a lot of research to do which I am excited about. Educating myself about food is such a good thing that it’s the good part of the transition. I love finding out what’s good in food and what should be versus what is and the gap is a nice thing to close.

 

I am enormously grateful for vegans who share their recipes online; because without them, I’ll probably eat salads for the rest of my life. This guidance definitely provides comfort for people like me who are just starting out. I’m hoping the transition will not be devastating in any way but I’ll reserve that judgment when I get there 🙂

Leave a Reply

