Breaking Bad Series Review (Seasons 1 and 2)

Season_1_posterI’ve never been a chemistry person, despite being so much like math because of its equations (which I love); I never really got the hang of it. Maybe because you had to memorize a ton of symbols and atomic crap that it felt so much like history at times (which I hate) that I just never wanted to notice it. So when I saw the logo for Breaking Bad, I immediately got turned off because of the chemistry reference. Also when I read the synopsis and read chemistry teacher, I said, this is not for me. Don’t get me wrong, I loved my chemistry teacher in high school, he was so cool and so enthusiastic, it was just that I like physics and not chemistry. And not that I expected this to be a science show about chemistry experiments but I am the type of person that when I don’t understand the things people talk about in the show, I tend to lose interest (I’m just that type of nerd).

I never really wanted to see the show because not a lot of people are talking about it (this is limited to people I know), but after that one faithful day that I was done watching Hannibal season 1 and wanted to take a refresher from all the frustration and gore, I saw Breaking Bad (yeah, stupid choice for what I wanted but hey, it all turned out well).  So Breaking Bad is created by Vince Gilligan for AMC about an overqualified chemistry teacher (yeah, he got a Nobel plaque something), Walter White played by Bryan Cranston, who gets lung cancer and teams up with his slacker former student Jesse Pinkman (yo bitch! You’ll get this after you’ve seen the first episode) played by Aaron Paul as they
“break bad” and cook meth.

This series is about as much chemistry as the Big Bang Theory is about physics, and maybe even less so don’t worry about that aspect of it. This series is all about drama sprouting from human relationships, death, violence, morality, addiction, power and money. The plot and story of this is just so fascinating and the character arcs are so effing interesting. Of course the premise follows that Walt needs money so he turns to a drug producer using this chemistry skills to produce the best meth ever, but what everyone has to go through because of it is so tense that at times you just want to see how it all ends so you don’t have to hold your breath. The creator and the writers of this show are also a master of timing, I mean for the little humor that this show has, it really works. And the things that people get into, you really get tangled in the life of them that despite Walt turning into as asshole, you still feel for him and still on his side. I don’t want to get too much into details of what happen so not to spoil it, but take my word for it, the story of this is awesome.

The cast and the acting? Let’s just say Bryan Cranston won 3 consecutive Emmys and Aaron Paul won 2 so I guess that’s all the credibility it needs. They were just so good as their characters that you get hooked on how they eventually evolve into who they are. To further emphasize my point, when I saw Bryan Cranston in this role, I would have never thought he ever had an appearance in How I Met Your Mother because he was just so different in this. He owned being Walter White, from the good to the bad. Aaron Paul was also great in the first season as a slacker but come season 2 you get to see his real personality which isn’t what you thought he is which was really cool to see.

The supporting cast are also great, Anne Gunn as Skyler White was really good because she portrays that wife thing that wants the best for everyone without thinking about the consequences. She was good because she was annoying in her family role but she also had her own battles to take as she is pregnant with a baby when seasons 1 and 2 are happening. Dean Norris as Agent Hank Schrader, Walt’s brother in law from marriage to his wife’s sister Marie who is a bad ass in the DEA. He will get more involved as the story progresses so don’t put him aside like I did in the first season. RJ Mitte as Walter Jr was also a good supporting cast although his character isn’t more involved in the story for now (a good tidbit for this guy is he plays Walt’s disabled son with cerebral palsy which he does have in real life). Betsy Brandt, Marie Schrader, Hank’s wife and Skyler’s sister is also good as supporting cast as she provides a lot of talking points with her sister. All other cast and characters are great in the series, you never meet anyone in the Breaking Bad universe that is really a throw off, you can definitely kill them off, but they weren’t just there. Characters were always there to move the story along which was great for the series.

All in all, I just have to say that Breaking Bad is awesome, I don’t know why I waited so long to see it myself. And for anyone who has not seen this show, I highly recommend seeing it now as it is a MUST SEE NOW. Watch it and get your mind blown and think that the human drama in The Walking Dead is child’s play when you see Heisenberg transform from timid school teacher to an effing drug lord. The series will end this year as the last episodes started airing. I myself am only on Season 3 as of the moment will definitely try to see it as it airs towards the end.

If you like human emotions tangled in the choices people make and how to face the consequences of those actions, you have to see Breaking Bad. Even if you don’t like violence, you will have to give it props for every amount of emotion that they give into a character and the story.

Leave a Reply

