2014 Movie Rundown

While it is too tedious to create an anticipated movie list for 2014, I thought it would be better to just skim through the 2014 movies and write my thoughts on it.

As we all know, January is the suckiest among all the movie months in the year, it’s studios saying, here is all the crap that didn’t make it last year so go, watch it and give us the money.

 

Robocop (February 12) – Not a huge Robocop fan as I was too young to know the original material. Will probably skip it because I am not interested in the material and the trailer didn’t convince me to go and see it.

 

Pompeii (February 21) – Kit Harrington half naked is probably a good sell since he’s almost always in at least 2 layers of clothing while roaming North but this looks like a history channel documentary of a civilization gone extinct.

 

300: Rise of An Empire (March 7) – I loved 300 but this isn’t anything interesting to me, especially knowing that the Persian Empire could have abolished slavery if they have taken over the entire western world (yes, the Greeks suck because they had slaves).

 

The Grand Budapest Hotel (March 7) – I know nothing about the film but I know Wes Andersen and that’s all the reason you need to see this movie.

 

Noah (March 28) – Not entirely sure if I want to see this because the trailer didn’t feel too Darren Aronofsky-ish. But if they produce a better trailer to lure me into the cinema, will probably see it because the cast and director are great.

 

Captain America: The Winter Soldier (April 4) – Not a huge Captain America fan because I am not American and I didn’t live through war times. But the winter soldier plot is interesting enough that I might see this film.

 

Transcendence (April 17) – I am not sure about this film. I think Johnny Depp is essentially Captain Jack Sparrow in everything so it’s hard to watch it just because of him, but if he does another Secret Windor performance, maybe this is good enough to watch. Not sure if Nolan’s stamp would be enough for Pfisher to succeed, the trailer seems way too Nolan-y to think that this is not Nolan’s movie.

 

The Amazing Spiderman 2 (May 2) – Not entirely excited about this since the first one didn’t wow me. It also has a bad case of Spiderman 3 disease (way too many villains) but it’s a superhero movie so I’ll probably see it in a cinema.

 

Godzilla (May 16) – Didn’t know there was going to be a Godzilla movie this year but when I saw the trailer I was sold. That trailer was awesome!

 

X-Men: Days of Future Past (May 23) – Of course I’m going to see this one.

 

A Million Ways to Die in the West (May 30) – I’m a huge fan of Seth McFarlane and I am interested to know what else he can do. Love the cast, love the idea of a western comedy because cowboys telling jokes sound better to me than the Mexican stand offs they often have.

 

Edge of Tomorrow (June 6) – This feels a little bit like Oblivion to me which is why I’ll probably skip it.

 

The Fault in our Stars (June 6) – Love the book, love the writers, love the person playing the protagonist. This is one of my most anticipated movies for 2014 because I am pretty sure that it will make me cry.

 

How to Train Your Dragon 2 (June 13) – Wasn’t able to see the first one in movie theaters so I will see this. The flight sequences in the first one deserved to be seen in a big screen which I why I will give this a chance.

 

Transformers 4: Age of Extinction (June 27) – Marky Mark is not enough to save this movie (remember, he was also part of The Happening).

 

Dawn of the Planet of the Apes (July 11) – Rise of the Planet of the Apes is one of the best movies of 2011 and you better believe that I will have tickets to this long before it gets release. Anytime Andy Serkis does motion capture is always a safe bet to see the movie. Can’t wait to see this one.

 

Jupiter Ascending (July 25) – While you might say the Wachowskis have made good movies, I can only say they made the Matrix (which was awesome) and their crappy sequels, so I’m not really all that looking forward to this movie. FYI, they produced V for Vendetta, they did not direct it so they shouldn’t get that much credit for it.

 

Guardians of the Galaxy (August 1) – I am obviously more of a DC fan but the premise of this is way to weird not to see it. The cast is great and it’s probably movie suicide for anyone not to see a Marvel movie at this point (as they all tie in together, except for X-Men and Spiderman, hahaha!)

 

Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles (August 8) – I want to see them on the big screen in a big budget film but for a film produced by Michael Bay and stars Megan Fox, this movie can just get off with Transformers 4 and just die.

 

Sin City: A Dame to Kill For (August 22) – I do like both Frank Miller and Robert Rodriguez but wasn’t a fan of the first one, will probably not see this second one either.

 

The Green Inferno (September 5) – Being an Eli Roth fan, will see this despite the type of movie that it is. Roth can certainly win people over with his psychoanalytic gore.

 

Resident Evil 6 (September 12) – On why they keep on making these movies, I don’t know. It’s probably Transformer’s version with zombies but who cares, people love the game, not the movies.

 

Gone Girl (October 3) – David Fincher’s new movie, I’m in.

 

Interstellar (November 7) – The teaser trailer sucked but it’s a Nolan film which means there is no way I am not seeing it.

 

Dumb and Dumber To ( November 14) – One of the best buddy movies ever made, I just hope Jim Carrey is funny in this one. I really miss his Ace Ventura moments.

 

The Hunger Games: Mockingjay Part 1 (November 21) – Loved Catching Fire so I will see this through. The main thing I would like to point out is that I am glad they are splitting Mockingjay into 2 movies because the book was way off its pacing that I’m hoping the movie can resolve.

 

Exodus (December 12) – Noah Part 2 starring Moses? Directed by Ridley Scott starring Christian Bale, I have to see a trailer but not too interested, it reminds me of the Ten Commandments (not in a good way).

 

The Hobbit: There and Back Again (December 17) – Again, an LOTR movie is worth watching because it just is (added to the fact that The Desolation of Smaug was great).

 

A lot of good movies but it seems to me like most movies are blockbusters now which make sense since they are the ones who make money. I am hoping to see more independent films but luckily I am from a country that’s not affected by theatrical releases so I’ll probably see them when I get a copy.

Leave a Reply

